What about MY christmas cookies?During the holiday season, I like to include my dogs in all the festivities!  They have their own stockings and get their own Christmas cookies.  Homemade dog cookies make a great present for the special dog in your life.  Here is a recipe that my dogs love.  These cookies smell so good when they are baking in the oven!

 Apple Cinnamon Bites

Ingredients:Apples

2.5 cups whole-wheat flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup skim milk
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon vegetable oil, plus additional to grease the cookie sheet
1 cup shredded apple

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Lightly grease a cookie sheet.  Place the flours and cinnamon in a bowl and mix well.  Add the milk, honey, oil, and apple and mix again.  Using a cookie scoop, place 24 scoops of dough on the prepared sheet and bake for 30 minutes.  Set aside to cool.  Repeat with remaining dough.  Store in airtight container for upto 2 weeks.

Throw Me a BoneI found this recipe in a doggie cookbook called: Throw Me a Bone, by Cooper Gillespie and Sally Simpson. I was originally looking for a special cookie recipe for my dad’s dog who has several food allergies (including soy products). In the book, this recipe includes 1/2 cup of soy flour, but I substituted this for extra wheat flour .

These cookies are a big hit at our house and I bet your dogs will like them too!

